Missouri Professional Communicators (MPC) is the Communication Arts Section of the St. Louis Artists' Guild and the Missouri affiliate of the National Federation of Press Women (NFPW). The goal of MPC is to:
  • aid and assist professional communicators
  • provide for an exchange of ideas and information
  • promote, support and advance opportunity, equity and excellence in communications.
What we offer
  • Programs with leading speakers for professional development.
  • Access to communicators throughout the state and nation.
  • Contests that recognize achievement.
  • Access to libel insurance through NFPW.
  • Information, advocacy and alerts through the First Amendment Network (FAN).
  • Creative cooperation with the St. Louis Artistsí Guild as leader of its Communication Arts Section.
  • Programs are offered at periodic meetings on Saturdays from 9 to 11 a.m., usually starting with light breakfast at the Artistsí Guild location. Anyone interested in the program topic is invited to attend. There is no fee for regular meetings, but donations are accepted.
  • An annual Spring Connect Luncheon features a prominent communications professional as speaker.
  • The National Federation of Press Women Communications Contest is held annually. Missouri Professional Communicators sponsors an annual communications contest with entries due each January. To compete in this contest, entrants must be MPC members. Work is submitted from the previous calendar year.
  • MPCís first-place entries in the annual state competition are announced in the spring, usually at the spring luncheon, before moving up to compete in the national contest.
  • Entries judged at the top of the national contest are recognized at the national conference hosted by a state affiliate usually in the fall.
  • The NFPW National Conference will be held in Kansas in 2016.
  • Missouri was a charter affiliate with the new National Federation of Press Women in 1937. The Missouri organizationís name was originally Missouri Press Women, although both women and men have been welcome since the inception.
  • Through the years, the organizationís focus also has broadened to include not only newspaper positions, but also other communications work as well.
  • In September 2007, the name of our organization was changed to Missouri Professional Communicators.

Membership (2016 Membership Form)
  • Missouri Professional Communicators invites a broad spectrum of communicators to be involved in the organization.
  • Voting membership consists of active, retired and student members
  • Both men and women who value professional growth and networking are invited to become members.
  • We welcome anyone interested in our program topics, professional development and networking to attend our meetings.
  • Those interested in entering their professional work in MPCís annual communications contest are required to be MPC-NFPW members.
  • Any communicator who is actively engaged in any aspect of the field of communications is eligible for active membership, including:
    • Editors
    • Writers
    • Publishers
    • Graphic designers
    • Reporters
    • Freelancers
    • Radio/TV broadcaster
    • Marketers
    • Photographers
    • Website administrators
    • Social media specialists
    • Advertising executives
    • Communications educators
    • Public information officers
    • Public relations practitioners
    • Communications business leaders.
To join MPC as a Professional, Retired or Student member, download and complete the 2016 Membership Form. Then mail it with your payment to:

National Federation of Press Women, Inc.
Membership Dept.
P.O. Box 34798
Alexandria, VA 22334-0798

Only an active or previous NFPW member is eligible to apply as a Retired member.

MPC Board of Directors

​​President and ​St. Louis ​Artistsí Guild ​l​iaison: Janice Denham
Vice ​p​resident: Roxanne​ T.​ Miller
Secretary: Pat​ricia A.​ Treacy
​Communications ​Contest ​c​hai​r​: Janice Denham
Archivist: Dee Rabey
​Members at large: Karen Glines, Linda Jarrett

For more information contact:
Janice Denham, President


Download 2016 Membership Form

Home | Calendar | MPC Member News | About |
Missouri Professional Communicators ©2018