MPC Member News

Three communicators take top awards
in national communications contest

From left: Mary Scott, Deborah Reinhardt and Susan Fadem

Three members of the Missouri Professional Communicators – Deborah Reinhardt, Mary Scott and Susan Fadem – earned first-place awards in the competition of the National Federation of Press Women.

There also were one second-place, two third-place, and two honorable mentions among the 16 top state entries forwarded to the national competition.

Deborah earned her nonfiction travel book award for “Delectable Destinations: A Chocolate Lover’s Guide to Missouri” and added to the distinction with third place for page design in the AAA Midwest Traveler, which she edits for AAA-Auto Club of Missouri.

Mary Scott’s video on how to use KDAR extension hoses was a top winner in the category of website videos for corporate or for-profit entities. She is self-employed with Make Believe TV, LLC.

Susan Fadem’s entry in the category of specialty articles/religion brought her first place with two stories subtitled “Paging the Past” and “Gifts of a Lifetime” under the ”Cherished Judaica” topic for Jewish Light publications. Honorable mention also was awarded to her specialty articles in the home category. One was featured in the St. Louis Post-Dispatch, the other in St. Louis Jewish Light's OY! Magazine.

Alice Handelman’s specialty articles in a hobby or craft earned second-place in the NFPW contest. Both appeared in Ladue News newspaper.

All the previous winners live in the St. Louis area. Allison Stein of Kansas City, Mo., also received third place for her short story, a single story, “Field Test No. 421,” which appeared in a publication of Yard Dog Press.

Those who earned the high marks will be honored at a banquet of the NFPW Communications Conference, which will be held Sept. 7 to 9 in Birmingham, Ala.

MPC member receives grant from NFPW to attend annual conference

Mary Scott
Mary Scott, (MakeBelieve TV), will be attending the National Federation of Press Women’s annual conference in Alabama this fall thanks to her receiving a first-timer grant. Offered to applicants who are NFPW members and who’ve never attended the annual conference, the grant is sponsored by the NFPW Education Fund. The grants pay all or part of the registration fees for first-time conference attendees.

Scott also won a first-place award in the (website video for corporate/for-profit) category. She is self-employed with Make Believe TV, LLC.

If you are a NFPW member who has yet to attend the annual conference, there’s still time to apply for a first-timer grant; the deadline is July 15. For details, visit

MPC Board of Directors

​​President and ​St. Louis ​Artists’ Guild ​L​iaison: Janice Denham
Vice P​resident: Open
Secretary: Jan Scott
​Communications ​Contest ​C​hai​r​: Janice Denham
Communications: Deborah Reinhardt
​Members at Large: Karen Glines, Linda Jarrett, Jenna Schmettgens, Susan Fadem

Home | Calendar | MPC Member News | About |
Missouri Professional Communicators ©2018